20.5 C
Munich
Tuesday, June 25, 2024

Final Fantasy 16 Demo Announced for June 12 and Save Data Will Transfer to the Full Game

Must read

Final Fantasy 16 is getting a demo on PS5 on June 12 and your progress will transfer over to the full game when it is released on June 22, 2023.

Square Enix announced the news at the Final Fantasy 16 pre-launch celebration, and it was confirmed that the demo will arrive on June 12 at 1am PT/4am ET/9am BST/6pm AEST.

As for what the demo contains, Square Enix shared it would begin with the prologue of the game, which should take players a bit over two hours to complete. This is the portion of the demo that will carry over to the full game, but that's not all the demo contains.

When players complete the prologue, they will unlock a Special Battle Demo, which lets them "experience the action combat of Clive with additional Eikonic abilities." Since the prologue features a younger Clive (the main character of Final Fantasy 16!), Square Enix wanted players to experience some of the abilities that will unlock later in the game.

Square Enix also noted that although the Special Battle Demo takes place in a stronghold that is very dark, that is not representative of the full game. They promise there is plenty of light and brighter areas to come!

As previously mentioned, Final Fantasy 16 is set to be released on PS5 on June 22, 2023, and in our hands-on with the first four hours of the game, we said, "From what I’ve seen so far, the future looks very bright for Final Fantasy 16. If its opening few hours of hulking Eikon showdowns, superb melee combat, and story that delivers on both a personal and global level are anything to go by, then a very fun time is on the horizon."

For more, check out our IGN First coverage of Final Fantasy 16, including an exclusive look at a mid-game boss battle, a look at the Eikonic abilities, 18 minutes of dungeon-crawling gameplay, and a closer look at Hunt Battles.


Have a tip for us? Want to discuss a possible story? Please send an email to newstips@ign.com.

Adam Bankhurst is a news writer for IGN. You can follow him on Twitter @AdamBankhurst and on Twitch.

- Advertisement -

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article